A lump in the throat
Q: Detroit Tigers pitcher Armando Galarraga lost his bid for a perfect game when umpire Jim Joyce botched a call. Joyce apologized to Galarraga, who said he gave the ump "a lot of credit." Why did this classy ending come as such a surprise? Does success lie in the initial achievement, or in what happens next? /em>
One could not see this act of unselfishness and courage and not get a lump in the throat. In the middle of all of the bad news that constantly surrounds us comes this wonderful story of kindness and courage.
My only regret in this whole matter is that according to the "official" record books, Galarraga's flawless game will not be reflected. I only wish that organized baseball would have chosen to act in kind by looking at an instant replay and admitting that a man was robbed of a historical performance.
I realize that the plays are called in real time, but there should be provisions in the sport for circumstances like these when one can call upon a "technical view" to sort this out. It's done in professional football, tennis and horse racing, to mention only a few. This was one of these times when the official call should have been changed.
Posted by: nbahn | June 14, 2010 12:48 AM
Report Offensive Comment
The comments to this entry are closed.