The League

NFL News Feed

Hall of Fame semifinalists announced

Former Washington Redskins guard Russ Grimm was among 25 modern era semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced Saturday.

The NFL's career receiving leader, Jerry Rice, and career rushing leader, Emmitt Smith, headlined the list of semifinalists, which resulted after selectors trimmed a group of 131 preliminary candidates.

Tim Brown and Aeneas Williams joined Rice and Smith in making the list of semifinalists in their first year of Hall of Fame eligibility.

The other semifinalists are former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue, former owner Art Modell, former coach Don Coryell and former players Cliff Branch, Cris Carter, Roger Craig, Terrell Davis, Dermontti Dawson, Richard Dent, Chris Doleman, Kevin Greene, Ray Guy, Charles Haley, Lester Hayes, Rickey Jackson, Cortez Kennedy, John Randle, Andre Reed, Shannon Sharpe and Steve Tasker.

The list of semifinalists is to be further reduced to 15 modern era finalists in January.

Those finalists, along with seniors committee nominees Dick LeBeau and Floyd Little, will be considered by the media members who serve as Hall of Fame voters during their annual selection meeting on the day before the Super Bowl. Four to seven enshrinees will be elected.

By Mark Maske  |  November 28, 2009; 2:28 PM ET  | Category:  Hall of Fame Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati  
Previous: Roethlisberger reportedly won't play | Next: Bills promote d-lineman


Please email us to report offensive comments.

Russ Grimm belongs in the Hall and at Redskins Park in the Head Coach office WITH the GM of his choice.

Posted by: hz9604 | November 28, 2009 4:30 PM

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company