The League

NFL News Feed

All-decade team named

MIAMI GARDENS--Peyton Manning and Tom Brady were named the quarterbacks on the NFL's all-decade team for the 2000s.

The team, chosen by members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee, was announced Sunday.

Brady has won three Super Bowls for the New England Patriots. Manning and the Indianapolis Colts will try for their second Super Bowl triumph here next Sunday against the New Orleans Saints.

Patriots Coach Bill Belichick and former Colts coach Tony Dungy were named the team's coaches.

Other players on the team were running backs Shaun Alexander, Jamal Lewis, Edgerrin James and LaDainian Tomlinson; fullback Lorenzo Neal; wide receivers Marvin Harrison, Torry Holt, Randy Moss and Terrell Owens; tight ends Antonio Gates and Tony Gonzalez; offensive tackles Walter Jones, Jonathan Ogden, Orlando Pace and Willie Roaf; guards Larry Allen, Alan Faneca, Steve Hutchinson and Will Shields; and centers Olin Kreutz and Kevin Mawae.

The defensive players were ends Dwight Freeney, Julius Peppers, Michael Strahan and Jason Taylor; tackles La'Roi Glover, Warren Sapp, Richard Seymour and Kevin Williams; linebackers Derrick Brooks, Ray Lewis, Joey Porter, Zach Thomas, Brian Urlacher and DeMarcus Ware; cornerbacks Ronde Barber, Champ Bailey, Ty Law and Charles Woodson; and safeties Brian Dawkins, Troy Polamalu, Ed Reed and Darren Sharper.

The punters were Shane Lechler and Brian Moorman, and the kickers were David Akers and Adam Vinatieri. The punt returners were Dante Hall and Devin Hester, and the kick returners were Josh Cribbs and Hall.

By Mark Maske  |  January 31, 2010; 7:39 PM ET  | Category:  Awards Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati  
Previous: Freeney questionable for Super Bowl | Next: Jets' Ryan apologizes


Please email us to report offensive comments.

Sean Taylor should have made it

Posted by: Mike4169 | February 1, 2010 11:39 AM

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company