The League

Rate The Refs

Right Call at the Goal Line

CLICK TO REACT Facebook

With all the poor officiating this season, it was a relief to see the right call at the end of Washington's 10-3 victory over Philadelphia yesterday. It's a shame officials didn't do the same one week earlier under similar circumstances in Pittsburgh's 13-9 victory over Baltimore.
Yesterday's game came down to one play inches from the goal line. The Eagles reached the Redskins 18 with 12 seconds to play and had just stopped the clock by spiking the ball. On the game's final play, Donovan McNabb completed a pass to wide receiver Reggie Brown just in front of the goal line.
As Brown was landing, cornerback Fred Smoot and safety LaRon Landry converged to make the tackle, preventing the ball from breaking the plane of the goal line. The Eagles had no timeouts left, and time expired before they could get off another snap. The replay official looked at the play again, and the call was upheld.
Two weeks ago in Baltimore, Steelers wide receiver Santonio Holmes caught a short pass with both feet in the end zone but had to reach across the goal line back into the field of play for the ball. Officials at first ruled no touchdown, which left the Steelers facing fourth down and goal at the 1.
But the play with just under a minute to go went to the replay official, and the call was overturned, giving Pittsburgh the winning touchdown despite what appeared inconclusive evidence.
When officials make the correct call at a critical time as they did yesterday, it makes you wonder how they could have been so remiss one week earlier when the situation was nearly identical.

By Gene Wang  |  December 22, 2008; 12:37 PM ET  | Category:  NFL , Refs Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati  
Previous: Officials Get It Plane Wrong | Next: Redemption for Hochuli

Comments

Please email us to report offensive comments.



I didn't think that were at all remiss in the Steelers Ravens game. I saw a touchdown all the way. I was stunned 5 Refs could watch a man catch a ball with 2 feet in the endzone and none have the onions to make a call. The replay confirmed the truth. 6 refs can be wrong.

Posted by: JkR- | December 23, 2008 1:19 PM

The comments to this entry are closed.

 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company